Aruba Central Online Help

Client Status Changes

The Clients page provides a list view of all the clients connected to the network. You can filter clients based on the network the clients are connected to. The page displays key client information and also allows you to navigate to a specific client detail page. For more information about clients, see All Clients.

Aruba Central provides a near-instant refresh of the client status if the client is connecting or connected to an access point. The access point must be running 8.6.0.5 or a later version and 10.1.0.0 or a later version.

If the client connection is in progress, the status changes to Connecting and the client appears in Aruba Central within 35 seconds after it is connected. If the client goes offline, the status is updated to Offline in the Clients page within 50 seconds.

Hover the cursor over Connecting in the Status column to view the following details:

  • Name of the client
  • Date and time the client was last seen

Figure 1  Connecting Clients

To view the clients page, perform the following steps:

  1. In the Network Operations app, set the filter to one of the options under Groups, Labels, or Sites. For all devices, set the filter to Global.

    The dashboard context for the selected filter is displayed.

  2. Under Manage, click Clients.

    The clients page is displayed in List view. By default, the Clients table displays all clients and the list of clients is populated for a time range of 3 hours.

  3. To filter the clients based on connectivity status, click the connectivity type from the Client Summary bar:
    • Connecting—Displays a list of client connections that are in progress.
    • Connected—Displays a list of clients that are successfully connected to the network.
    • Failed—Displays a list of all failed client connections.
    • Offline—Displays a list of all offline clients.
    • Blocked—Displays a list of all blocked clients.