Aruba Central Online Help

Configuring System Users

In the Account Home page, the Users and Roles option under Global Settings allows you to create, modify, and delete users.

This section describes the procedure for configuring users in an enterprise account. For information on how to configure system users in the MSP mode, see System Users and User Roles in MSP Mode.

Adding a System User

To add a user, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Account Home page, under Global Settings, click Users and Roles.

    The Users and Roles page is displayed.

  2. Click Add User.

    The New User window is displayed.

  3. Configure the following parameters:
    • Username—Email ID of the user. Enter a valid email address.
    • Description—Description of the user role. You can enter up to a maximum of 32 characters including alphabets, numbers, and special characters in the text field.
    • Language—Select a language. The Aruba Central web interface is available in English, French, Spanish, German, Brazilian Portuguese, Chinese, and Japanese languages.
    • Account Home—Select a user role for the Account Home page. If there are common modules between Account Home and other app(s), the Account Home user role has higher precedence. For example, the Devices and Subscription module in the Network Operations app.

      If an application is not provisioned, that application is not listed in the New User pop-up window.

    • Network Operations—Select a user role for the Network Operations application.

      If you assign the user role guestoperator, readonly, or readwrite, from the Select Groups drop-down list, select group(s). By default, the admin user role has access to all groups.

    • ClearPass Device Insight—Select a user role for the ClearPass Device Insight application.

      For more information on user roles, see Configuring User Roles.

  4. Click Save. An email invite is sent to the user with a registration link. Users can use this link to access Aruba Central.

Figure 1  New User Window

The registration link in the email invite is valid for 15 days. The link expiry date is also mentioned in the registration email notification:

Figure 2  Aruba Central Registration Email

Resend Email Invite

If any user has not received the email invite, complete the following steps to resend the invite:

  1. Click Actions and slide the Resend Invitation To Users toggle button to the right.
  2. Enter the email ID and click Resend Invite.

Viewing User Details

In the Account Home page, under Global Settings, click Users and Roles. The Users tab is displayed. The List of Users table displays the following information:

  • Email ID of the user.
  • Type of user. The user can be system user or external user.
  • Description of the user.
  • Role assigned for the Network Operations app.
  • Role assigned for the ClearPass Device Insight app. This option is displayed only if the ClearPass Device Insight app is provisioned and if you have subscribed to the app.
  • Role assigned for the Account Home page.
  • Allowed groups for the user.
  • Last active time of the user. If the last active time cell is blank, the user has not logged in after the product upgrade.

Editing a User

To edit a user account, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Account Home page, under Global Settings, click Users and Roles.

    The Users tab opens.

  2. In the List of Users table, select the user and click the edit icon.
  3. In the Edit User <"Username"> window, modify description, role, or allowed groups.
  4. Click Save.

Deleting a User

To delete a user account:

  1. In the Account Home page, under Global Settings, click Users and Roles.

    The Users tab opens.

  2. In the List of Users table, select the user and click the delete icon.
  3. Confirm user deletion in the Confirm Action dialog box.

Viewing Audit Trail Logs for Users

Audit logs are generated when a new user is created and an existing user is modified or deleted from the Aruba Central account. It also records the login and logout activities of users.

To view audit logs for Aruba Central users:

  1. In the Account Home page, under Global Settings, click Audit Trail.

    The Audit Trail page is displayed.

  2. To view audit logs for user addition, modification, or deletion, click the filter in the Classification column, and select User Management.
  3. To filter audit logs about user activity, click the filter in the Classification column, and select User Activity.